Why can't I reinstall Ride in a different directory ?

Q. Why does Ride install in the original directory?

With some versions of Ride and Windows, when you uninstall Ride and then reinstall it in a different directory, the installer ignores the install directory that you specified for the second install. It uses instead in the same directory as the previous install.

This is particularly annoying in conjunction with the problems for running some tools (compilers, mostly) in the default Windows directory:
Are there any problems specific to 64-bit Windows?

A. This is a bug in our software that will be corrected in future versions of the Ride kit, but for now you must manually cleanup the registry, to make it forget the previous install directory.

Here is the procedure:

1. Uninstall all RKits and Ride.

2. Delete all directories where you previously installed Ride.
(This could help and speed up things for points 1 and 2:
Uninstalling Raisonance tools ).

3. Execute "regedit.exe".

4. Detete this key: "HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Raisonance"
(you might have to change access rights and/or owner).

5. Detete this key: "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Raisonance"
(you might have to change access rights and/or owner).

6. Reinstall Ride in the new directory
(which must not contain any parentheses).

7. Check that the old install directory (that you deleted during step 2) has not been created again.

8. Install the RKits.

Note: On 64-bit Windows (Vista, 7, 8 or future) the key should be deleted from "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6432Node\Raisonance".